Found my way here from LX Forums

Introduce yourself here!
mdnitedx
How the heck did I end up here?

Found my way here from LX Forums

Post by mdnitedx » 2011 Dec 17 13:05

I wasn't planning on digging into my 2006 Magnum RT for another few months, but an unexpected ECM/PCM issue prompted me to get started sooner rather than later. I've started with an OBD-II interface, however I picked one based on the STN1110 chip...which I think should make for an easy transition to CAN BUS monitoring / hacking once my car's more immediate issues are addressed. Until then I'll just be reading...

I started playing with vehicle bus hacking with J1850 and Atmel micro controllers on Harley motorcycles. Since then I haven't kept up to date with vehicle communications - but I think this community will help me get up to speed. Thanks! :)

mdnitedx

Re: Found my way here from LX Forums

Post by mdnitedx » 2012 May 28 03:03

The PCM issue I mentioned here is now fixed. I'll give a quick explanation.

For the past several months my car has stalled while driving. In the beginning it happened during the warmup cycle on cold (20f) days, either while idling in the driveway or driving on the highway. This was maybe once a week or every two weeks. It ran perfect until it happened, and afterwards the vehicle acted as if nothing had happened (no MIL/CEL, no DTCs*).

With the OBDLink ScanTool I was able to see that things weren't quit right; all of the OBD monitors had been 'reset' and the PCM indicated 0 miles traveled since codes cleared. Here I found another module on the OBD-II interface - I think it is the TCM - and this indicated a different mileage since 'codes cleared'. Infact the TCM showed as having a code logged against the PCM - U0100 / lost communications. This was a soft DTC in the TCM, and the PCM ignored it.