Jeep Wrangler Canbus Junkie

Introduce yourself here!
ve7it
How the heck did I end up here?

Jeep Wrangler Canbus Junkie

Post by ve7it » 2010 Oct 25 20:47

Hi Guys,
Just bought a 2010 wrangler basic because mechanically it is one of the few vehicles were you can still see and access most of the mechanical systems. It has a real frame with all the bits bolted on, so I am hoping it has a long life without too much time in the dealership. I am amazed at all the computer related stuff... if its got a wire connected it is probably run my one of the many computer modules. I am a retired automation engineer (worked mostly in designing scanning and optimizing systems in sawmills) with strong embedded processor experience. I just have this urge to know how everything works... the Jeep looks like a great testbed and CAN seems to be the key. There seems to be remarkably little information available on the Jeep CAN subsystems. I have a 2007 service manual, so the wiring isnt an issue, but understanding what is firing around the wires is more than a little interesting. I hope this group has a few geeks with similar interests!. One project I am interested in is building a replacement dash cluster, but a start would be just eaves dropping on the cluster communication to try and decipher all the instrument control messages.
Anyway... lots of reading to do.
cheers
Lawrence from Nanoose Bay

ByteBuster

Re: Jeep Wrangler Canbus Junkie

Post by ByteBuster » 2011 Dec 06 12:51

Hi

I just found your post. I'm planing on doing exactly the same with my Wrangler :-)
But in fact I had no contact with CAN Bus systems yet - but I did alot of software engineering in Home Automation and Medical Controllers.
So I guess this will help me in understanding and analyzing the protocol...

Did you get any reply to your request or documentation to the CAN control codes?
Maybe we can cooperate in this project ;-)

Cheers

Martin

thornrag

Post by thornrag » 2012 Aug 22 14:19